Saturday, October 19, 2019

Joel Jerome • It Will Feel Good To Die • 2019

"There’s a powerful Neil Young connection at work, —a bleakness that shifts into something maybe more hopeful" -

"Jerome’s new single sounds like a Beatles gem that’s been left out to ripen in the California sun" -

Late Homework • The Songs of David Berman • 2019

There is an idea that poetry is not the poem itself, but rather the small tidbit here and there that you are able to find, make meaningful connections with. and carry with you in your heart. This is certainly true of what it’s like exploring the absurd yet strangely dignified world of David Berman. In every piece of his writing at any point you might stumble upon the most stunning view of the miraculous beauty of decaying American life. Every line had the same opportunity to blow your mind with it’s brutal and transformative honesty, achingly encompassing a landscape of tragedy-turned-comedy and vice-versa. 

Friday, October 11, 2019

Club 8 • Så Underbart Va Livet • 2019

Today Swedish duo Club 8 release their first new material in over a year via Golden Islands. On "Så Underbart Va Livet" (which is in English and not Swedish no matter what you think!) they use dusty organs, ambient soundscapes and Asian mallet instruments to create experimental pop music that is overwhelmingly sad and peacefully happy.

Iñigo Montoya • MDTG • 2019

Between melodic and depressive ambient music, ironic rap-punk and electronica Nicolas-Jaar French pop, Iñigo Montoya is definitively a French project without borders. Their imaginary and ironic texts mock both the hypocrisy of an individualistic society, the standardization, the bourgeois classe and give a new message of a return to a fantasized Eden.

Ali Barter • Big Ones • 2019

Dodging the pressures placed on us by work, school, our relationships and ourselves is a constant dance, and Barter uses her frank lyricism as fancy footwork to curve negative vibes on "Big Ones". Of the track, Barter says: “I wrote ‘Big Ones’ during a time when I was sorting through the stress of expectation. Expectations from the people I work with, people I live with and mainly the ones I was putting on myself. So the song is essentially about opinions.” 

Tuesday, October 8, 2019

Approaching Perfection • A Tribute to DC Berman • 2019

« The idea came from my friend Baptiste Fick, who taught me two decades ago how to play How To Rent a Room on a guitar. “What if we organized a tribute compilation of David Berman?” As is customary at Section 26, I responded : “Let’s do it. We’ll think about it afterwards.” The musicians we started to contact reacted the same way, with short and direct answers. We often got a modest : “I’m in, buddy!” Sometimes, we’d receive whole testimonies of an encounter, an interaction with David Berman around Jewish mysticism, or teenage memories which obviously struck a chord with Baptiste and me. Even the most legitimate refusals were encouraging. Xavier Mazure

Adrian Prath • Lake Ontario [Full EP] • 2019

"Lake Ontario" - Press Release:
Adrian Prath, the 25 year old from Germany, releases his amazing ‘Lake Ontario’ EP a optimistically wistful ambient adventure. At times spacious and atmospheric and at times upbeat and groove heavy, the fast pace and dance-able rhythms on ‘Rupert Station’ kick the EP into high gear, a stark contrast from the chill down tempo ambient DreamPop that sets the foundation for ‘Lake Ontario’. The track ‘North’ has a haunting guitar melody mixed with psychedelic reverb and effects and crunchy drums that sound like a classic cassette recording. The ever evolving instrumental expands past psychedelia and tip-toes into down tempo experimental funk, another interesting departure from underlying substrate set in the sequence of opening tracks. The closing track ‘2nd Floor’ is indie heaven, dance heavy and heartfelt, the chorus and spacey guitar melody put the listener in a trance-like state. Immediately upon finishing ‘Lake Ontario’ you want to restart it, hearing the tape be inserted one is relieved on the beginning of ‘Hat Away’ , the lofi Indie ballad, not having to actually rewind to revisit this riveting work.

Friday, October 4, 2019

a Singer of Songs • Portraits • 2019

Dan Moxon • The Blue • 2109

Lounge Singer was a collection of half older songs/half new songs that I collected together to form my first solo album. As with most of my songwriting, I pulled ideas and themes somewhat stream of consciousness style from my own experiences without ever trying to reference anything specific. 

I like to note that there isn't a single guitar on the whole album. I think that with my main rock band, Bend Sinister, things always end up going a certain way when you start adding guitars and distortion. With Lounge Singer, I really wanted to let it breathe and have the piano and vocals be the driving force. 

River Westin • Gardens in the Summer • 2019

My name is River Westin, I really love the music on If It Be Your Will. I thought the vibe of my new track might fit in. It’s a nostalgic, dreampop track with a soft, melancholy tone. It might be a bit slower than you’re typical feature but I thought you’d appreciate the sound! It's my first release since placing Top 10 in the 2018 International Songwriting Competition's Adult Contemporary category and I’m really excited to share it.

Thanks for the share River. I'm digging the vibe of your sound.

Wednesday, October 2, 2019

An Orchestrated Impulse • 2019

An Orchestrated Impulse is a flipbook saga of mutual admiration against an electronic landscape. A humble hello that evolves into a hangout. A casual conversation that becomes the desire to communicate across distance, across mediums, in different creative languages to convey a sincere mutual appreciation for and reflection of one another’s perspectives.

Cathedral Bells • "Heavy Rain" • 2019

"As gauzy as it is ’gazy, Matt Messore’s dream pop project sounds like the Gulf Coast response to SoCal’s Surf Curse and their bedroom pop offshoots." ~ FLOOD Magazine

"What began as Messore’s bedroom pop project has flourished into well-crafted shoegaze for daydreams and late-night mischief."  ~ The 405

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Fir Cone Children • Fog Surrounds Us • 2019

"It's a sparkling offering of 11 brand new indie-rock, shoegaze-oriented post-punk episodes blending it all with some psychedelia too, ultimately sounding as what can be best described as dream-punk." - (USA) 

Pom Pom Squad • Ow • 2019

solid female vocals push the simplicity of the music to a point of greatness

Bonnie "Prince" Billy • BPB Mix Tape Volume 5 • 2019

1. Kentucky / Will + Dawn 8.14.12 What The Brothers Sang Sessions
2. Bolden Boke Boy / Palace / 10.4.96
3. Ballad of Joe Hill / 10.9.15 Nelligan Hall Louisville KY
4. I Heard of a Source / 7.27.15 Kanfleuten, Zurich, Switzerland
5. The Sun Highlights the Lack in Each / 4.28.02 All Tomorrow's Partys E. Sussex UK
6. A Sucker's Evening / 6.7.04 Sluggo's Pensacola, Florida
7. O Let It Be / 6.29.03 Roskilde Festival, Denmark
8. Idea and Deed / 4.27.05 the Lava House, Louisville KY
9. The Pine Tree / 2.12.07 Corn Exchange, Brighton UK
10. Ode #3 / Ode Music
11. We've Only Just Begun / Carpenter's Cover, Snake Accident 

1. The Butcher / Palace, Springfest, Columbia College MD 4.25.93
2. Let the Wires Ring / ABC Glasgow, Scotland 4.11.06
3. The Devil is People / 6.8.15 Bonny Stillwatter, Louisville Beer Store
4. Ruby / Tweaker 8.12.03
5. Stablemate / PeelSession 2.2.99
6. When Thy Song Flows Through Me/VPRO Radio5 DeAvonden Session 
Netherlands 6.13.98
7. Less of Me / Bonny Roughs 8.2002
8. Forever and Ever / Bonny & Susie
9. Black Captain / Wolfroy Vinyl Master 2011
10. I Am the Sky / 8.29.98 Rare Book Room Brooklyn, NY
11. Midnight Rider / Palace Brothers 9.8.94 Kaserne, Basel, Switzerland

Painter • 2019

simple beauty...